Hampton Roads Transportation Planning OrganizationHRTPO
Home » Member Jurisdictions
Member Jurisdictions

The Hampton Roads Transportation Planning Organization (HRTPO) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Hampton Roads area. As such, it is a federally mandated transportation policy board comprised of representatives from local, state, and federal governments, transit agencies, and other stakeholders and is responsible for transportation planning and programming for the Hampton Roads Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA).

What is the current planning area boundary of the HRTPO?

At a minimum, a Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA) must cover the urbanized area and contiguous geographic areas likely to become urbanized within the next 20 years. Currently, the cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg; the counties of Isle of Wight, James City, and York; and portions of the City of Franklin and the counties of Gloucester and Southampton are included in the MPA.

Click HERE for a map of the Hampton Roads Metropolitan Planning Area.

What is the total estimated population of the Hampton Roads Metropolitan Planning Area?

According to the Weldon Cooper Center data, the estimated population within the Hampton Roads Metropolitan Planning Area is 1,674,022 as of July, 1 2013.

Click here for demographics from the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission.