Hampton Roads Transportation Planning OrganizationHRTPO
Home » About Us » Board Advisory Committees » Transportation Technical Advisory Committee (TTAC) » Active Transportation Subcommittee
Active Transportation Subcommittee

The Active Transportation Subcommittee (ATS) is a subcommittee of TTAC dedicated to improving the bicycle and pedestrian facilities across the region.  The ATS is comprised of active transportation professionals from Hampton Roads jurisdictions, the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT), and other invited participants, such as local advocacy groups.

The purpose of the Active Transportation Subcommittee includes but is not limited to the following:

  • Provide the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee with technical expertise in active transportation planning and policies
  • Assist in reviewing, scoring, and prioritizing regional active transportation projects
  • Oversee the development and implementation of the regional active transportation plan as well as assist with active transportation components of other regional projects
  • Promote and help advance regional active transportation projects, such as the South Hampton Road Trails and Birthplace of America Trail/Virginia Capital Trail extension
  • Assist localities, agencies, and advocacy groups in grant opportunities and funding.

Members (Localities)

Kevin Finn, Chesapeake

Lucy Stoll, Chesapeake

VACANT, Franklin

Carol Rizzio, Gloucester County

Alison Eubank, Hampton

Sandon Rogers, Hampton

Donald Whipple, Hampton

Jamie Oliver, Isle of Wight County

Thomas Leininger, James City County

Carolyn Poissant, Newport News

Angela Rico, Newport News

Dorian Allen, Norfolk

Anna Dewey, Norfolk

James Wright, Portsmouth

VACANT, Poquoson

VACANT, Southampton County

Christina Fisher, Suffolk

Frances Bailey, Surry County

Steve Lambert, Virginia Beach

Isabella Young, Virginia Beach

VACANT, Windsor

Aaron Small, Williamsburg

Timothy Cross, York County

Elizabeth Mertz-Guinn, York County

Partner Organizations

Tom Howard, Birthplace of America Trail

Daniel Sonenklar, DRPT

Elliott Caldwell, East Coast Greenway Alliance

Kindra Greene, Elizabeth River Trail

Glenn Oder, Ft. Monroe Auth.

Sherri Dawson, HRT

Reed Nester, Tidewater Trail Alliance

Cat Anthony, VCT Foundation

Caleb Brooks, VDOT

Angela Effah-Amponsah, VDOT

Eric Stringfield, VDOT

Ben Goodill, WATA


Rob Case, HRTPO

Updated: 11/02/2023